We're committed to the well-being of our staff and customers. Learn more.

Is Coffee Gluten Free?

 

If you have a gluten intolerance, or if you’ve just decided to cut back on gluten, then you know that sometimes it can be confusing to differentiate the foods that are gluten free with those that are not.  Although some foods may be obvious, such as bread and pasta, the rest may not be as clear.  This brings us to one of the world’s favorite beverages: coffee.  So, can you enjoy a cup of coffee if you’re allergic to gluten?  Let’s take a look.

Is Coffee Gluten Free?

The answer to this is yes, coffee is naturally gluten free.  That being said, there are several ways that gluten can sneak its way in.  Although not everyone is sensitive to the small traces of gluten that these items may contain, others have to be more cautious with their choices.  The three things that could add gluten to your coffee are: flavored coffee beans, cross contamination, and flavored add-ins.  

Flavored Coffee Beans

The reason that some flavored coffee beans contain gluten is because some flavors derive from barley.  That being said, since flavored coffees can be tempting, all you have to do is check the packaging to ensure that it’s gluten free.  However, the best way to play it safe is to drink unflavored coffee.

Cross Contamination

If the beans are processed in a facility that also processes gluten, it’s possible that it could be contaminated with wheat, barley, or rye.  Additionally, cross contamination can actually happen at coffee shops and restaurants.  This could happen if the staff uses the same equipment for different products, such as grinding flavored beans in the same machine that they grind their non-flavored beans.  At Pax & Beneficia, we’re proud to announce that our new location in Grapevine is also a roastery.  Not only are our coffee beans unflavored to ensure that they don’t contain gluten, but we have a regulated process that prevents cross contamination.

Add-Ins

Aside from the actual coffee beans being flavored, you also have to watch out for traditional coffee add-ins.  This includes coffee creamers, syrups, and even some flavored milks.  This is because many coffee flavorings have an alcohol base, which could derive from gluten grains.  This does not mean that these things always contain gluten, but rather that it's a possibility.  That’s why you should always check what is being added to your drink beforehand.

 


What This Means for Your Gluten Intolerance

Reading that there’s a possibility that a cup of coffee could contain gluten may make some people nervous.  That being said, by knowing the 3 ways that gluten could be added to coffee, you’re better able to keep yourself protected.  This means that even if you have a gluten intolerance, you can still enjoy your morning cup of coffee.

 

At Pax & Beneficia, our goal is to make your coffee experience as great as possible.  We take care of our coffee through every step of the process, from the moment the coffee beans are picked up until you’re enjoying your cup of coffee.  Part of making this possible is helping our guests find the right beverage to fit their diet, food intolerance, or preference.  If you’re ever worried about what ingredients are being put in your coffee, please ask our experienced baristas.